Skip to content

Simcoe County councillors cost taxpayers $759,000

Expenses and per diems add up in 2015
County of Simcoe

Simcoe County taxpayers paid $778,313.75 last year for their county councilors and county appointees.

In a report coming to the county’s committee of the whole Tuesday, treasurer Lealand Sibbick summarized the honoraria, per diem and expenses county politicians incurred in 2015.

County council was the largest expense, ringing in at a total of $759,240.68 in pay and expenses.

The mayors and deputy-mayors of the county’s 16 member municipalities received $640,4673.70 in honoraria and per diems and claimed $118,766.98 in expenses.

Warden Gerry Marshall earned $67,075.25 and claimed $9,659.06 (which includes use of a vehicle), for a total of $76,734.31.

Deputy-warden Terry Dowdall received $40,631.08 and another $11,012 in expenses, for a total of $51,643.66.

County councillors earned between $11,367.97 (Tay Township Deputy-mayor Bill Rawson) and $21,417 (Midland Mayor Gord McKay), with many hovering around $18,000.

This is in addition to what their local municipality paid them last year.

Four councilors also receive funds from the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit: Lynn Dollin, Anita Dubeau, Brian Saunderson and Scott Warnock.

Reader Feedback

Laurie Watt

About the Author: Laurie Watt

A journalist with 35 years experience in newspapers, Laurie is also an active volunteer in Barrie.
Read more