Skip to content

New mayor, deputy mayor on the horizon for Penetanguishene

Mayor Doug Leroux and Deputy Mayor Anita Dubeau both opt not to seek re-election
Penetanguishene Town Hall. Staff photo/MidlandToday

Penetanguishene will have a new mayor and deputy mayor following the Oct. 24 municipal election.

The deadline to file for candidacy passed on Friday and there are many contenders for the positions that will represent citizens and shape the town’s future.

Current Mayor Doug Leroux opted not to seek re-election as mayor, leaving the top spot vacant.

There are two people vying to become mayor. Douglas Rawson, a former councillor for Penetanguishene, ran a close race in the 2018 election for the deputy-mayor spot. This time around, he's hoping to become mayor.

He will face Jill M. St. Amant, who is currently a town councillor and has been involved with various municipal committees for many years.

Current Deputy Mayor Anita Dubeau will also be bowing out. There are also two candidates looking to replace her.

Brain Cummings has been a multiple-term councillor and part of every municipal department with the town over his career.

Dan La Rose has also been a multiple-term councillor with experience on many committees for over two decades.

In the five positions available for town councillor, 11 candidates have put in their names — including the current mayor, Doug Leroux.

Joining him on the ballot will be: James Dalzell, Bonita Desroches, Lindsay Duquette, Debbie Levy, Mike MacRae, Robert Malfara, Suzanne Marchand, Michel Mayotte, George Vadeboncoeur, and Bill Waters.

Voters in the municipal election will also cast a ballot for trustees for the local school boards. Claire Thibideau is the lone candidate entered as trustee for the French-language Catholic District Board.

For the French-language public district board, candidates Saveria Caruso and Eric Lapointe will be looking to fill the role. 

Michael D’Amelio is the sole candidate for the English-language separate school board.

Tyler Boswell and Robin Talbot will be vying for trustee of the English-language public school board.

For the member of the Protestant separate school board, candidates are as follows: Lynne Cousens, Gregory Scott Craftchick, Elizabeth DesRochers, Kyle Graham, April LeBlanc, Cathie Sindall, and Lindsay Stewart.

The list of candidates is expected to be certified by the town clerk’s office on Monday.

Information on the Penetanguishene municipal election can be found on the Town of Penetanguishene website.

Reader Feedback

Derek Howard, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

About the Author: Derek Howard, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

Derek Howard covers Midland and Penetanguishene area civic issues under the Local Journalism Initiative, which is funded by the Government of Canada.
Read more