Skip to content

Burkett cruises to another term as Severn mayor

Incumbent Jane Dunlop defeated by Judith Cox in tight race for deputy-mayor position
Mike Burkett was re-elected as Mayor of Severn Township Monday night. File Photo

Mike Burkett was easily re-elected to a fourth term as mayor of Severn Township, Monday night.

Burkett garnered 3,740 votes, finishing far ahead of his only challenger, Mike Gibbons, who managed 535 votes.

The real race was for the deputy-mayor position as two longtime Severn politicians vied for the municipality's position. In the end, Judith Cox prevailed as she received 2,372 votes, finishing 445 votes ahead of incumbent Jane Dunlop.

In Ward 1, Mark Taylor was acclaimed.

In Ward 2, Dan Janssen was elected in a four-way race.

Philip Brennan is acclaimed in Ward 3.

In Ward 4, Wanda Minnings earned 511 votes to defeat Michael Hansen, who had 291 ballots cast in his favour.

Jim McIntyre is acclaimed in Ward 5.