Skip to content

Clarke named to OHL's first all-star team after stellar season

League unveils lineup for all-star, all-rookie squads
Barrie Colts defenceman Brandt Clarke has been named to the OHL's first all-star team after putting up 61 points (23G, 38A) in 31 regular-season games.

The Ontario Hockey League today announced the first, second and third all-star team selections, in addition to the first and second all-rookie team designations for the 2022-23 season.

OHL all-star and all-rookie teams were selected by the OHL's general managers, with voting conducted in two stages beginning with a conference ballot followed by a final ballot that integrated the top selections from both the Eastern and Western conferences.

A total of 12 of the league’s 20 member teams are represented on this year’s all-star and all-rookie team selections, with the Western Conference champion London Knights leading the way with seven. The OHL champion Peterborough Petes join the Sarnia Sting trailing with four members recognized while the North Bay Battalion, Ottawa 67’s, Saginaw Spirit and Windsor Spitfires each boast three.

Historical results of note include North Bay’s Domenic DiVincentiis becoming the first Battalion netminder ever selected to a first all-star team while Troops head coach Ryan Oulahen was voted to an all-star team for the first time in his OHL career.

NHL Draft-eligible left winger Colby Barlow was voted to the first all-star team, giving the Attack their first forward to receive the designation since Joey Hishon and Elmvale native Garrett Wilson in 2010-11.

The four Sarnia Sting representatives (Del Mastro, Pastujov, Voit, Kyrou) voted to all-star teams matches a franchise record set back in 1995-96.

On the all-rookie teams front, the Saginaw Spirit become the first team to have three players (Misa, Parekh, Willis) voted to a first all-rookie team since the 1993-94 North Bay Centennials (Jinman, Neilson, Yachmenev). Liam Greentree became the first Windsor Spitfires forward voted to an OHL all-rookie team since Taylor Hall in 2007-08. Mason Vaccari is the first Kingston Frontenacs goaltender voted to an all-rookie team since Curtis Cruickshank in 1996-97.

2022-23 OHL all-star and all-rookie teams

Representatives with major positional awards in brackets are default first team members. All other designations are determined by votes cast by OHL general managers.

First all-star team:

C — Logan Morrison, Ottawa 67’s
LW — Colby Barlow, Owen Sound Attack, voted first all-rookie team in 2021-22
RW — Matthew Maggio, Windsor Spitfires (Most Outstanding Player)
D — Pavel Mintyukov, Ottawa 67’s (Defenceman of the Year), voted third all-star team in 2021-22
D — Brandt Clarke, Barrie Colts, voted second all-star team in 2021-22 and first all-rookie team in 2019-20
G — Domenic DiVincentiis, North Bay Battalion (Goaltender of the Year), voted second all-rookie team in 2021-22
Coach — Dave Cameron, Ottawa 67’s (Coach of the Year), fifth time being voted to an OHL all-star team

Second all-star team:

C — Amadeus Lombardi, Flint Firebirds
LW — Sasha Pastujov, Sarnia Sting
RW — Ty Voit, Sarnia Sting
D — Ethan Del Mastro, Sarnia Sting
D — Logan Mailloux, London Knights
G — Brett Brochu, London Knights, voted first all-star team in 2021-22 and first all-rookie team in 2019-20
Coach — Dale Hunter, London Knights, seventh time being voted to an OHL all-star team

Third all-star team:

C — Owen Beck, Peterborough Petes, voted second all-rookie team in 2021-22
LW — Brennan Othmann, Peterborough Petes, voted first all-star team in 2021-22 and first all-rookie team in 2019-20
RW — Avery Hayes, Peterborough Petes
D — Ty Nelson, North Bay Battalion, voted second all-rookie team in 2021-22
D — Christian Kyrou, Sarnia Sting
G — Michael Simpson, Peterborough Petes
Coach — Ryan Oulahen, North Bay Battalion

First all-rookie team:

C — Joey Willis, Saginaw Spirit
LW — Michael Misa, Saginaw Spirit (Rookie of the Year)
RW — Liam Greentree, Windsor Spitfires
D — Zayne Parekh, Saginaw Spirit
D — Sam Dickinson, London Knights
G — Zach Bowen, London Knights

Second all-rookie team:

C — Gabriel Frasca, Kingston Frontenacs
LW — Easton Cowan, London Knights
RW — Beckett Sennecke, Oshawa Generals
D — Oliver Bonk, London Knights
D — Anthony Cristoforo, Windsor Spitfires
G — Mason Vaccari, Kingston Frontenacs