Skip to content

Students pick Brassard to represent Barrie-Innisfil, Lancaster for BSOM

Elementary and secondary students in the riding picked John Brassard to win Barrie-Innisfil by a narrow margin and Marty Lancaster to win Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte by a comfortable margin
Students elect Liberal minority government in national student parallel election

More than 1.1 million elementary and secondary school students participated in Student Vote Canada 2019, coinciding with the 2019 federal election.

After learning about the electoral process, researching the parties and platforms, and debating Canada’s future, students cast their ballots for the official candidates running in their school’s riding.

As of 5 p.m., ET today, 1,167,110 votes were reported from 7,747 schools, with results from 338 federal ridings.

  • The Liberal Party took 22.3 per cent of the popular vote and won 109 seats, forming a minority government. Justin Trudeau won in his riding of Papineau.
  • The NDP will form the official opposition with 24.8 per cent of the popular vote and 98 seats. Jagmeet Singh won his seat in Burnaby South.
  • The Conservative Party took 25.0 per cent of the popular vote and won 94 seats. Andrew Scheer won his seat in Regina—Qu’Appelle.
  • The Green Party took 18.2 per cent of the popular vote and won 28 seats. Elizabeth May won her seat in Saanich—Gulf Islands.
  • The Bloc Québecois took 1.3 per cent of the popular vote and won nine seats. Yves-François Blanchet did not win his seat in Beloeil—Chambly.

Barrie-Innisfil results follow:

Results by Candidate

Elected Candidate Political Party Vote Count Vote %
John Brassard Conservative 1,366 28.01%
  Pekka Reinio NDP 1,355 27.78%
  Bonnie North Green Party 1,228 25.18%
  Lisa-Marie Wilson Liberal 715 14.66%
  Stephanie Robinson People's Party 213 4.37%

Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte results follow:

Results by candidate:

Elected Candidate Political Party Vote Count Vote %
Marty Lancaster Green Party 910 30.31%
  Doug Shipley Conservative 751 25.02%
  Dan Janssen NDP 610 20.32%
  Brian Kalliecharan Liberal 518 17.26%
  David Patterson People's Party 213 7.10%