Skip to content

Names on provincial ballots set ahead of June election

There are eight confirmed candidates in Barrie-Innisfil, and six in Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte

The deadline for candidates to get their name on the ballot has come and gone for the June 2 provincial election. 

Candidate nominations closed May 12 at 2 p.m.

“The candidate list is now considered final on our website," Elections Ontario spokesperson Nicole Taylor said in an email to BarrieToday

Barrie-area voters have a full roster of candidates to choose from. 

In Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte (BSOM), the field includes the Ontario Party's Gerry Auger, Progressive Conservative incumbent Doug Downey, New Blue's Hayden Hughes, Jeff Lehman for the Liberals, Beverley Patchell for the NDP, and Elyse Robinson for the Green Party.

In Barrie-Innisfil, the candidates are Grace Dean with the Ontario Party, Benjamin Hughes as an independent, Progressive Conservative incumbent Andrea Khanjin, Bonnie North for the Greens, John Olthuis for the Liberals, Pekka Reinio with the NDP, Ashlyn Steele with New Blue, and Jake Tucker with the Ontario People's Front.

The BSOM riding has already had one all-candidates meeting, which was held Wednesday at Grace United Church, but only featured three of the candidates. 

The Canadian Association of Retired Persons (CARP) is hosting a debate on May 16.